Gallery

MIXTAPE // Paris Trillton :: Trill Tape Volume 1


Maybe I’m just using this as an opportunity to get a little nostalgic, but it seems like just yesterday when the buzz was “Have you heard this new moombahton thing?”  If you keep track of time in blog years, last summer’s big moombahton wave seems like a lifetime ago, but I’m reminded of that same excitement as this summer’s big trap wave gathers more speed and it creeps into our daily listening diet.

If you STILL aren’t in the know about this what this “trap” thing is all about, I’d say this Paris Trillton is a fantastic place to start.  I don’t have a lot of info for you on who Mr. Trillton is (except that his friends have a MySpace Tom fixation), but this is one of the best mixes I have come across to date.  Every time it comes on, I play it all the way to the end.

Pari$ Trillton :: Trill Tape Volume 1

Click here to download the Trill Tape Volume 1 from Mediafire —>

I am totally fascinated by how people are getting creative with this throwback sound.  Back in the early 90’s, when I was as far from a ghetto as you could be, trap beats (and trap house attitude) were what defined the separation of rap from “hip-hop” but that’s about all I knew.  I couldn’t understand why producers seemed to deliberately pick the cheapest sounding hi-hat samples, which sounded about as nice as blowing up a string of Black Cats in a Coke can, and how they got away with two notes on a Casio preset as their beat.  I had no concept of “trill” and no swag to call my own.  But now that producers are revisiting that soundpushing the production values, experimenting with remixes, the rhythm and the feel are extending far beyond the front stoop.  I think we have only just begun to see the mileage this sound has.


*** LINKS ***

Paris Trillton :: SoundCloud
Paris Trillton :: Facebook

Your thoughts?

