Gallery

PREVIEW // Above & Beyond :: Group Therapy Tour 2012 :: San Francisco, CA


Fresh off their mind-blowing performance at the Electric Daisy Carnival, Above & Beyond returns to San Francisco this week on their Group Therapy tour.  Tickets for the show sold out in a record 12 minutes but in an effort to satisfy their passionate fans, an additional date was added (6/21).

Having never really been a part of the trance movement, I’ve longed to understand what the fuss was about.  I got my first dose when I saw Cosmic Gate in 2011 but it wasn’t enough.  When I found out that Above & Beyond were going to be playing here in San Francisco at the legendary Warfield Theater, I knew I could not miss it.  Beyond just getting to enjoy the music, and the spectacle, I am coming into this show with high hopes that I will walk away saying that “I get” the trance movement.

Trance, a genre that is so close to so many peoples hearts and souls (so much so that it brings them to tears) but has never really resonated with me.  I know that the Group Therapy show will change all of this or at the very least give me a working knowledge of what it’s all about.

Their current show (centered around their second full-length album ‘Group Therapy’) is more than just a DJ set but rather a full experience.  Packed with live video messaging from the band, and emotional visuals, the Group Therapy show takes the dance floor experience to new heights. Their shows go leaps and bounds beyond.

Joining them in San Francisco is fellow Anjunadeep producer, Andrew Bayer.  The Washington-born producer has been on a rampage as of late with six of his recent productions being featured on the Anjunadeep 04 compilation.  Blending the sounds of deep house with progressive and deep trance, Bayer‘s sound can only be described as eclectic and unique.  This opening performance should not be overlooked so be sure to arrive early to see him (I know I will).

Tickets for Friday are completely sold out, but some can still be found at: http://absf2.eventbrite.com/

We hope to see you out on the floor to experience the phenomenon that is Group Therapy.

Your thoughts?

